Riverside County Planning Commissioners
Riverside County Planning Commissioners

1st District Planning Commissioner - Carl Bruce Shaffer

Serving Riverside County, First District residents, businesses, and area stakeholders is an honor and privilege. I take this appointed position seriously and will be actively present, representative, and relevant in my service.
I will be accountable, transparent, and committed in conducting thoughtful measured reviews. I will uphold the Planning Commission’s civic responsibility to implement Riverside County’s planning and development policies, plans and regulations. My actions will be grounded considering private property rights, land use compatibility, public amenities, effective infrastructure, along with sustainability of healthy human and natural environments for future generations. 

My experience and values have been forged over the past thirty years of private and public service to local, regional and international organizations (i.e. Private Consulting Firms, Department of Interior, Department of Defense, National Conflict Resolution Center, Civilian Expeditionary Work Force Program, Ministry of Defense Advisor Program, as well as, volunteer appointments and or government agency ex-officio membership to a city design review board, a city airport commission, a regional airspace and land use council, and a district citizen advisor board). 

These roles and experiences would not have been possible without the support and sacrifice of my wife, children, family and friends.

The First Supervisorial District includes the cities of Wildomar, Lake Elsinore, Canyon Lake and most of the City of Riverside. The unincorporated communities of DeLuz, Gavilan Hills, Good Hope, Lake Hills, Lake Mathews, LaCresta, Mead Valley, Meadowbrook, Spring Hills, Temescal Valley, Tenaja, Warm Springs, and Woodcrest.

2nd District Planning Commissioner - David Leonard

David Leonard returns to the County of Riverside where he began his career in the Planning Department. Since that time, he has performed land use planning services for an engineering firm and a planning firm before forming his own company, David Leonard Associates, in 1996. In recent years, in addition to serving private sector clients, he has provided contract planning services for cities that include San Jacinto, Cathedral City, and Hemet. He is also a Planning Consultant to his alma mater, California Baptist University.

Mr. Leonard served on the board of the American Planning Association, Inland Empire Section and was elected Section Director in 1991. In this capacity, Mr. Leonard served on the California state APA Board. He also served on General Plan Advisory Committees in the cities of Moreno Valley and Riverside.

Mr. Leonard was appointed by the Riverside City Council to serve on the Board of Administrative Appeals and Zoning Adjustment in 1987 and served through 1996. He was appointed by the Riverside City Council to serve on the Planning Commission in 1999 and served through 2007. In both instances, Mr. Leonard chaired each body multiple times.

Mr. Leonard has also pursued historical interests. He served on the Board of Directors and presided over the Old Riverside Foundation for Historical Preservation. He also served as President and remains on the board of the Sons of the American Revolution- Riverside Chapter. He is a member of the Riverside Historical Society and the Idyllwild Area Historical Society. He also authored a book about the history of broadcast radio in San Diego. David and his wife of 40 years, Kim, make their home in Riverside, CA.

The Second Supervisorial District includes the cities of Corona, Norco, Jurupa Valley, and Eastvale. Approximately 1/3 of the City of Riverside and the neighborhoods of Northside, Downtown, Wood Streets, Magnolia Center, Grand and the northern half of Arlanza and La Sierra Acres. The unincorporated communities include Home Gardens, El Cerrito, Coronita and Highgrove.

3rd District Planning Commissioner - Gary Thornhill

Bio coming soon.








The Third Supervisorial District includes Idyllwild to Anza Borrego Desert State Park, and from Temecula to San Jacinto. The cities of Hemet, Murrieta, San Jacinto and Temecula, and the communities of Aguanga, Anza Valley, Cahuilla, East Hemet, Gilman Hot Springs, Homeland, Idyllwild, Lake Riverside, Mountain Center, Murrieta Hot Springs, Pine Cove, Pine Meadow, the Pinyon Communities, Poppet Flats, Rancho California, Soboba Hot Springs, Valle Vista and Winchester.

4th District Planning Commissioner – Guillermo "Bill" Sanchez

Appointed to the Riverside County Planning Commission by the Board of Supervisors on October 16, 2012, Bill Sanchez brings to the Commission 6 years experience as a Planning Commissioner for the City of Coachella, as well as being a retail development manager within the Coachella Valley.

A longtime Coachella Valley resident, he was born in Indio, graduated from Coachella Valley High School and earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from California State University Long Beach. He resides in Indio with his wife and two daughters.




The Fourth Supervisorial District includes the cities of Blythe, Cathedral City, Coachella, Desert Hot Springs, Indian Wells, Indio, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Palm Springs and Rancho Mirage. The unincorporated communities include Bermuda Dunes, Chiriaco Summit, Colorado River communities, Desert Center, Desert Edge, Eagle Mountain, Indio Hills, Lake Tamarisk, Mecca, Mesa Verde, North Shore, Oasis, Ripley, Sky Valley, Sun City. Palm Desert, Thermal, Thousand Palms and Vista Santa Rosa. 

5th District Planning Commissioner - Eric Kroencke

       Bio coming soon.







The Fifth Supervisorial District includes northeast Palm Springs to south Menifee, Banning, Beaumont, Calimesa, Menifee, Moreno Valley and Perris. The unincorporated communities include Banning Bench, Cabazon, Cherry Valley, Desert Hills, Desert Hot Springs, El Nido area, Juniper Flats, Lake Perris, Lakeview, Lakeview Mountains, Mission Springs, Nuevo, North Palm Springs, Painted Hills, Quail Lake, Reche Canyon, San Jacinto Wildlife Reserve, San Timoteo Canyon, Snow Creek, the Sovereign Nation of the Morongo Band of Mission Indians, Twin Pines, West Garnet, Whitewater and Windy Point.

Contacting the Planning Commission

Please route all correspondence to:

Elizabeth Sarabia, TLMA Commission Secretary
Riverside County Administrative Center
4080 Lemon Street 12th Floor
P.O. Box 1409
Riverside, CA 92502
E-mail: esarabia@rivco.org 
Phone: (951) 955-7436 Fax: (951) 955-2767

Any person wishing to make a presentation that includes printed material, video, or another form of electronic media must provide the material to the Project Planner or Commission Secretary at least 48 hours prior to the meeting.  All electronic media must be submitted on a flash drive or CD.  If providing printed material, the presenter should submit 9 copies of the document to the Project Planner or Commission Secretary for distribution to the Hearing Body.